UnBoxing! The Runner Crate – September

I am continuing on our quest to get through my backlog of unboxings!  This week we will be looking at the September Runner Crate! There were lots of goodies in the box! (Unfortunately the footage I took of this was corrupted so you’ll just have to read about the products inside!) dsc_0662

(Since you won’t be able to see/hear my impressions of the products I’ve included the information on the box card and my thoughts below the picture! As always click the picture to see if the product is available on Amazon.com)

In the box:

Runner Crate EST. Premium T-Shirt –  MSRP: $22; www.runnercrate.com
This is the first t-shirt design of many. As requested by many members… we are delivering. Printed on the heralded soft and smoothest t-shirt out there. This American Apparel t-shirt guarantees a comfy wear and a constant dose of startup spirit. Made of 100% Fine Jersey Cotton.

dsc_0661

This t-shirt was a really soft cotton shirt and came in a medium unisex cut.  I’m not normally one for wearing tees but this one was soft enough to be added in to my “laze around the house” rotation!

Sawyer Stay-Put SPF 30 Sunscreen – MSRP: $8; www.sawyer.com
The Sawyer Stay-Put Sunscreen uses a unique “Breathable Matrix” formula that gives you the best and most comfortable protection you have ever experienced. While most sunscreens hold the lotions in the top two layers of the skin, ours bonds with the sun ray absorbing agents deeper in the skin, getting better protection for even longer. with one application.
dsc_0638

I know you’re supposed to wear sunscreen every day and my lotions that I use do have SPF in them.  With the weather finally on the cool down I don’t think I’ll find myself in need of a really good “stay-put” sunscreen until I either travel someplace warmer or next summer.  I will give this one a spot test for feel and thickness however and report back.

Yum Earth Organics Gummy Bears – MSRP: $9.99 for a 10 pack; www.yummyearth.com
YumEarth was born out of our commitment to feed our family a diet rich in delicious healthful foods that are free of yucky chemicals, high fructose corn syrup and dyes. YumEarth tastes much better than mass produced chemical candy because we choose real fruit extracts and plant friendly organic ingredients to sweeten our lives and yours.  Good for us. Good for mother Earth. Certified organic. 100% Natural.
dsc_0648
Ask any of my friend or family and they will tell you I love a good gummy bear. I have high hopes for these little guys…

Jalapeno Cheddar Signature English Muffins – MSRP $29.99 for 6; www.wolfermans.com
Enjoy a boost of flavor with our jalapeno cheddar signature english miffuns. Made with our world famous recipe, these superior english muffins are extra-thick and have an ideal crispy texture when toasted.  Dried jalapenos, cheddar cheese, and red peppers five these muffins their outstanding taste. They make a perfect savory snack any time of day.  Our gourmet english muffins are freezer-friendly, so stock up on your favorite flavors.
dsc_0645

These muffins certainly are thick… I’m not sure that I’ll be able to toast them because I don’t think they will fit in my toaster… and I’ve got one with wide slots for bagels… we shall see! Also, it should be noted that the MSRP price on the card was for 6 bags of 4 muffins each.

KIND Healthy Grains Granola Bars – MSRP $30 for 40 bars; www.kindsnacks.com
KIND Healthy Grains Granola Bars are made from ingredients you can see and pronounce.
dsc_0650

I know they sell KIND bars in my local groceries in the healthy living section. I will say I’ve never gone out of my way to try them though.  Also, I’m not crazy about the flavors they gave me so these will likely be a “Gil Report” taste-test item.  I did like that they gave two different flavors to try though!

Calnaturale Svelte Organic Protein Shake – MSRP $8 for a 4 pack; www.drinksvelte.com
Perfect for breakfast on the go or an afternoon pick-me-up, our fantastic cappuccino shakes are a tasty blend of organic soymilk and organic coffee beans that are ever so lightly sweetened with stevia for a beautifully balanced taste. Svelte Organic Protein shakes are perfect as a delicious meal replacement, for pre or post workout, or as an anytime ready-to-drink snack. Our protein snakes are vegan , gluten-free, and made from non-GMO organic soy. Each rich creamy shake contains 20% of your daily fiber intake, just 6 grams of sugar and helps to control hunger and give you energy you need to maintain your healthy lifestyle.
dsc_0640

I live the protein shake life and this particular item looks super yummy to me.  When you combine coffee and protein together chances are I’m sold.  Soy milk is not usually my first choice for a protein shake as I prefer dairy options but I’m hoping that the coffee flavor will be enough to cover the soy and stevia tastes.

Yum Earth Organics Fruit Lollipops – MSRP: $8 for a 40 pack; www.yummyearth.com
YumEarth was born out of our commitment to feed our family a diet rich in delicious healthful foods that are free of yucky chemicals, high fructose corn syrup and dyes. YumEarth tastes much better than mass produced chemical candy because we choose real fruit extracts and plant friendly organic ingredients to sweeten our lives and yours.  Good for us. Good for mother Earth. Certified organic. 100% Natural. Flavor Options Include: Sour Apple Tart, Pomegranate Pucker, Mango Tango, TooBerry Blueberry, Googly Grape, Strawberry Smash, Very Cherry, and Wet-face Watermelon.
dsc_0656
There were actually four of these lollys in my box… one didn’t make it to the photoshoot lol. I am a sucker for lollipops and the one I had, the Pomegranate, was seriously good! I can’t wait to try out the others!

Ocean Snack Roasted Seaweed – MSRP $18 for an 18 pack; www.koreanfoods.com
Seaweed is a delicious treat packed with vitamins and minerals to give you body a nutrition boodt without the fat. Our Korean seaweed is roasted to perfection, sprinkled with a dash of rice bran oil, and all natural seasonings to create the perfect healthy snack. Kids just love the taste!
dsc_0655

We were once again given two flavors to check out.  While I’ve had seaweed snacks before I can honestly say I don’t think I’ve ever had it seasoned.  I know seaweed is supposed to be really good for you so maybe this can replace my cracker addiction… not likely… but it’s worth a shot!

Honey Stinger Organic Energy Chews – MSRP $27 for 12 bags; www.honeystinger.com
As Honey Stinger’s most popular energy chew flavor, our fruit smoothie blend includes cherry blossom, orange blossom, and mixed berry.  A perfect option for those who can’t decide on just one flavor. This is a delicious snack or energy source! Sweetened with honey and tapioca syrup, these chews provide a natural and sustainable source of energy with the multiple carbohydrate sources: glucose, fructose, maltose, and sucrose.
dsc_0646

The Honey Stinger brand is one that we have encountered in previous boxes with both their waffles and gels and, as I’ve said before, one I’m fond of.   As with a couple of other items in this month’s box we were given two flavors: the fruit smoothie mentioned on the card and lime.  I’ve had these before and do like them for mid-distance runs as long and it’s not too cold out – they get pretty hard in cold weather.

So that was everything that was in the September Runner Crate! I was kind of disappointed in the value of the box this month.  If you took away the t-shirt, the value of the items in the box was only $26.97.  I deducted the cost of the t-shirt since it’s more of a Runner Crate promotional item rather than a running related apparel item.  Had it been a tech shirt I would most certainly have included it in my product value. As it stands with the t-shirt we still came in under $50 at $46.97.  Hopefully it was just a down month for product samples and we will see improved value next month!

Overall, I’m still very satisfied with the Runner Crate service and it’s been a great way to get and try new products!  I’ll see you soon with the October Runner Crate Unboxing!

Until next time, Happy Running!

One thought on “UnBoxing! The Runner Crate – September

  1. Pingback: A Runner’s Christmas Wishlist! | Turtle Goes for a Run

Leave a Reply

